Deflated Ego


Let’s talk about deflated egos. This afternoon, I was finishing up my latest NHL goalie sketch at my timeshare, the good ole Long Island Railroad, and the conductor, who looked a little like Bette Midler in Hocus Pocus, punches my ticket and says, “Is that your dog in a football helmet?”

Roy002_72
This was my expression in response to that question.

By the way, this is not anyone’s dog in a football helmet, but four-time Stanley Cup Champion Patrick Roy in a hockey mask.  Yesterday, I shared a sketch of legendary Canadiens goalie Ken Dryden, who some would argue is the greatest goalie of all-time. I toss my hat into the Patrick Roy pool.

Growing up a New Jersey Devils fan and witnessing Martin Brodeur break and/or shatter nearly every goaltending record there is, I really shouldn’t be on Team Roy in the greatest of all-time debate, but St. Patrick has three things going for him:

  1. He has not one, but two Conn Smythe trophies for playoff MVP. Brodeur has none, although he should have gotten it over JS Giguere in 2003. But that still puts him one less than Roy, and even so, Brodeur wasn’t even the most valuable player on his own team that year. That’s how good the Devils were.
  2. In a head-to-head matchup with the Stanley Cup on the line in 2001, Roy’s Colorado Avalanche beat Brodeur’s Devils in seven games. The Devils were up 3-2 in the series, with Game 6 at home, me at the game, and I watched Marty let a real stinker beat him from the blue line in the first period. (I think Adam Foote was the shooter, but my memory is hazy, and I’m not going to bother with research.) It set the tone for a forgettable game that Devils didn’t seem to care about winning.
  3. Roy has four Cups, Brodeur three.
Leave a Reply

