King and Queen


KingQueen_72

I’ve had the idea to draw this for a while now. Originally, I wanted to draw a 3D cube type of thang, include Prince’s face on the third facet, and call it “The Royal Family.”

“King and Queen” is an ink drawing is on 11×14″ Strathmore mixed media paper.

The most fun with this was that I’d fill in the heavy blacks while my daughter sat next to me and scribbled in her Hello, Kitty coloring book (or, more likely, when she roamed the house and scribbled on the walls). I really relish those quiet moments with my Mon Chi Chi. (I also relish the loud, insane moments that occupy the other 99% of our time together, most of which include some combination of Batman stickers, Minions Play-Doh or putting diapers on Minnie Mouse.)

And I think we’re gonna have more of these quiet drawing moments coming up, because why not make a few more of these, a series I’m tentatively calling, “Oh,. I misunderstood What You Meant.”

Other potential franken-mash-ups could include titles like Strawberry Juice, Strawberry Fields, Black and Tan, and Fresh Kill. Feel free to guess what pop culture icons (real or fictional) would occupy each of those, and also suggests some other fun wordplay mash-ups.

Published by

MojosWork

Half-artist, half-fish, half-monkey, the Mojo has defied logic, gravity and superiors in four different decades! This is his life, unfiltered, unrefined, underwear.

5 thoughts on “King and Queen”

  1. I love this. This is an excellent idea! I’d love to see more in this mash-up series. And it’s great that you’re able to do this with your daughter by your side. Very sweet. 😊

    1. In the car, for about 6 weeks now, she has been saying, “Daddy! Wewillweillrockyou!” It’s the ONLY thing we’re allowed to listen to whilst driving, except when she takes the occasional break for “Radio Gaga,” and once in a blue moon, “Bicycle.” I fucking love that kid soooooooooo much. Words do it no justice.

      1. Awww. That’s awesome! 🙂 Mine still adores David Bowie. She burst into tears when we told her he’d died. And she heard an Alice Cooper song she liked the other day so I told her I’d play her more Alice Cooper & she said “Yay!” I need to play more Queen songs for her – I’m sure she’d go for them too. Kids are the best. And so are cool parents who let them listen to good music. 😉 (although I promise I force none of it on her – she does love Taylor Swift too! And refuses to like all the Iron Maiden I play. Damn.)

        1. Mine also loves Taylor. What are your kid’s favorite songs? We’re currently in a long kick of “22” and “Out of the Woods,” whihc Lila calls “Dirty Song,” cuz Taylor gets all muddy when she falls into a puddle in the video. THAT took some explaining when my wife was asking me why Lila wants to listen to dirty songs.

          I won’t lie, Swift is catchy. I also enjoy “22,” “We Are Never Getting Back Together” and “Wildest Dreams.” If I never hear “Shake It Off” again, though, it’ll be too soon.

          1. Wow – I wasn’t expecting so much Swift love! 😉 I asked her & her favorite is Blank Space. She does also really like Shake It Off, though. I like Bad Blood & I Knew You Were Trouble & Blank Space. I mean…. If I HAD to choose favorites. Lol. I don’t mind her as she’s a decent enough role model for young girls. She’s not all skanky like so many of them are. Oh, and I don’t complain when the kid wants to watch the Wildest Dreams video since Clint Eastwood’s super hot son is in that… 🙂

Leave a Reply

