MUPPET #50!


This is a special Muppet Monday, because this is the official 50th Muppet for the ongoing portrait project! I’d love to hit 60 by the end of the year. Only 400 more to go!

12x12
12×12

I was only briefly into Sesame Street as a kid. I knew the staples like Big Bird, the Count, Bert & Ernie, and others, as well as 80s role players like Sherlock Hemlock, Forgetful Jones, the Amazing Mumford and Roosevelt Franklin. Sesame Street in 2014 is a much different world.

I’ve watched a good portion of the current season, and only Grover and Cookie Monster seem to remain as mainstays. (His segments, Cookie’s Crummy Pictures – spoofs of popular films – are hilarious.) Elmo still dominates the program, but his meteoric rise to fame was already after my time, so he doesn’t count. Bird, Count, Bert and Ernie are only around once in a while, and I’ve yet to see any of the other characters I already mentioned. I guess they’re retired. Sad.

In their place are characters like Abby Cadabby, Elmo, Murray and Ovejita. And somewhere between this new Sesame world and the one I remember, there is a whole rise-and-fall-of section of Sesame Muppets, characters like Rosita and Zoe. (I’ve yet to see either of them this year.) I know next to nothing about them, but in doing some cursory research for this ongoing portrait project (www.sesameGO.com), I thought Zoe was cute, and here she is.

One thought on “MUPPET #50!

  1. I miss the old school, pre-Elmo days too. But more than anything, I just want to see Sesame Street in the UK!!! : ( Zoe was after my time as well but I know of her. I agree – she’s cute. Nice job! : )

Leave a Reply

