LOGO: Man Club


Some kid who works in my office, a real fresh-faced college prep kinda guy, asked me to design a tee shirt for his group of friends, who refer to themselves as “The Man Club.”

Some of the themes this guy – who might be descended from EVERY d-bag villain from 80s high school party movies – wanted are as follows, and I kid you not when I say this is verbatim from his email:

  • Patriotism and military support to the point of Xenophobia
  • Standing up for what you believe in, because you are likely right, because you are awesome
  • Hard work/manual labor requiring extreme feats of strength and skill (includes extreme drinking feats)
  • Being generally extreme in everything you do/enjoying beating other people at everything even if not a competition
  • Other random, miscellaneous, manly stuff

I sent him some drafts and he asked why I didn’t include any sailing elements. I explained that I didn’t realize this kid’s terribleness was actually the terriblest, so I went back and added a ship’s wheel. Here’s a test sheet for colors:The Man ClubI like everything in the middle column, and I’ve got money on these dudes picking the one with the pink wheel.

7 thoughts on “LOGO: Man Club

  1. Hahaha! The Man Club? Are you fucking kidding me?! The pink one looks the best! (And I’m not saying that because I’m a girl – I’m not much of a “pink” girl. Green is my favorite!)

    The Man Club. Fucking hell…

Leave a Reply

