COLLAGE: Bela Lugosi/Dracula (24×24″)


24x24
24×24

I think I’m going through an existential crisis. I have a hard time accepting that I live in the most inconvenient place on earth (Long Island), but I would do anything for my daughter, and right now, this is where she needs to be.

I also think parenthood has resulted in some sort of change to my genetic make-up. Like when Daredevil got hit by a truck full of radioactive isotopes, or the would-be Fantastic Four were bombarded by cosmic rays. My double-helix is inherently different now. As a result, my musical tastes are getting… weird. Like Freudian weird.

New music doesn’t even exist for me anymore. I just don’t give a shit. All I want to do is find old tunes. Songs I listened to with my dad in the car or in the house when I was 4 years old in Clifton, NJ. All the stuff he liked that I HATED for FOREVER. And now, I’m actively seeking it out. Is this some midlife crisis to signify that I am officially old, no longer on the cutting edge of Twitter trends? Am I listening to my dad’s music because I’m a dad? Am I my dad? Oh my god, I’m my own dad!

What does this have to do with anything related to my art? Well, nothing. Other than I wanted to shoehorn a Gordon Lightfoot song into this post. I think Dracula once said, “Sundown, you better take care, if I find you been creepin’ ’round my backstairs.”

See? Now its been shoehorned.

That my favorite song right now. While we’re at it, here are some other Dad songs I sing to my little Bean every morning before I leave for work. Let’s call it a random Top Ten list. People like those. (In no particular order after 1. Sundown by Lightfoot.)

2. Jim Croce: Operator
3. America: Sister Golden Hair

4. Carly Simon: You’re So Vain
(“Your scarf, it was apricot.” Such a badass lyric.)

5. Dan Fogelberg: Power of Gold

6. Bread: Guitar Man

7. Bread: Everything I Own
(On the terrible day when my dad dies – I seriously dread that day so much that I’m tearing up just writing about its hypothetical happening – I’m playing this at his funeral and plan on drinking a bottle of booze with my brothers every subsequent year on the old man’s birthday with this looping in the background. It will be blubbery.)

8-9. Anything by Harry Chapin, especially Mr. Tanner and Taxi, both of which should be movies. (If Disney can turn their crappy rides into movie franchises, these songs should be converted into Oscars nominees every February.)

10. Seals & Croft: Summer Breeze

 

8 thoughts on “COLLAGE: Bela Lugosi/Dracula (24×24″)

    1. Oops. Stupid iPhone app. Wow – when you said you were listening to 70’s easy listening, you REALLY did mean EASY listening! Lol. That’s okay – I’ve mellowed out in my old age too. ; ) I like this kind of stuff too. But kind of prefer the more rocky & psychedelic side of 70’s music. : )

      1. I am a diehard Queen fan, but like I said, existential crisis. This is the only shit that keeps me sane right now… whihc is INSANE, because when I was a kid, it all drove me nuts in the house, the car, wherever.

  1. I totally agree with your whole philosophy here. I listen to maybe two “modern” bands and the rest is from the ’70s and ’80s. David Bowie mostly, but lately I’ve been on a real Crosby, Stills & Nash and Neil Young kick, and sometimes Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young.

Leave a Reply

