CEREAL SUNDAY: Honey Bunches of Oats (with Strawberries)



HBOOB2 Honey Bunches of Oats w/ StrawberriesI’ve been bad-mouthing a lot of Post’s cereals since I started Cereal Sundays a few months back. There was C is for Cereal, Cocoa Pebbles, and the most deflating of all, Mini Cinnamon Churros. (For the love of God, if you say “Compare to Cinnamon Toast Crunch,” you better know what the hell you’re doing.)

Every dog gets its day and I guess every cereal brand gets its… bowl… That was a stupid analogy. Sorry.

TANGENT: It’s funny that my writing style doesn’t account for the fact that i can edit and delete entire swaths of text.

What I’m trying to say is that Honey Bunches of Oats with Real Tasty Strawberries is a great cereal, and finally, Post gets it right. And all the credit goes to Vernon J. Herzing. Lifted right from the back of the box, here is some cool HBO – fuck! I can’t abbreviate Honey Bunches of Oats without it being confusing – trivia.

Born in 1989, Honey Bunches of Oats hit the market and became an instant success. But, did you know it all started from a single smile?

Loving father and lifelong Post employee, Vernon J. Herzing, had the idea to combine a few of Post’s cereals together to make the ultimate tasty breakfast. With a little help from his daughter, he knew he was onto something the moment he saw her face light up with a smile.

Over two decades later, Vernon’s special cereal has made over 50,000,000 smiles, yours included!

I don’t know why, but I love the texture of this photo.

You’d think the official site would tell you what cereals were crossbred to spawn this breakfast liger. I think it’s safe to say Post uses a corn flake and granola bits as their main ingredients here. I also don’t think I’m going out on a limb to suggest there are more strawberries per box in Honey Bunches of Oats than Special K Red Berries.

The aftermilk is fantastic. So sweet, so flavorful. Depending on my mood, I might go so far as to say its tastier than Cinnamon Toast Crunch’s aftermilk. That’s saying something, because CTC is god’s gift to cereal. Period.

FINAL RATING: Cereal Killer: 4 Stars

2 thoughts on “CEREAL SUNDAY: Honey Bunches of Oats (with Strawberries)

    1. I can see how dried strawberries would be off-putting. I ate pizza out of the outside garbage one time, though, so my standars are a little…skewed.

Leave a Reply

