CEREAL SUNDAY: Basic Four


Basic 4I’m not sure Basic Four ever gets its due. Its got a fairly high caloric intake per serving, at 200, but almonds, craisins and yogurt bits account for that, and the medley of flavor and crunch is pretty damn good, given that this cereal’s primary selling point is that its a healthful adult cereal boasting a little of every food group.

Here’s some purported nutritional benefits from the box:

  • Excellent source of whole grain with 25 grams per serving (at least 48 grams recommended daily)
  • 4 grams of fiber per serving (15% daily value); good source of iron (25% daily value)

Basic 4Once upon a time, I absolutely LOVED Basic Four, because like most General Mills cereals, its just flat-out top-notch. My fascination has waned though. There’s not enough of those delicious yogurt pieces. (Special K has a fruit and yogurt blend that crushes Basic Four.) I’m also more down with Kashi Go Lean Crunch, which doubles the fiber of Basic Four, and has 9 grams of protein, compared to 4 for Basic Four. I also think Go Lean Crunch is sweeter, and has a better texture. Finally, the aftermilk of Basic Four leaves a lot to be desired. I love when I’ve got a cereal residue flavor in my milk. With Basic Four, it’s usually just pieces of fruit and nuts that sank to the bottom of the bowl. I don’t want to eat more cereal when I’m at the milk-drinking phase of my breakfast.

Still, despite there being better options out there, Basic Four is still going in my shopping cart if it’s a two for $5 special.

FINAL RATING:Cereal Killer: 3 Stars

 

Leave a Reply

