WWF Zombies: Mr. Imperfect


After I finished the Rick Rude painting, I shifted gears to another of the all-time greats, Mr. Perfect. Like Rude, Perfect was a Minnesota-bred star oozing athletic ability, charisma and mic skills, who, in today’s WWE, would easily be the top dog. Unfortunately, both of these guys  died way too soon – their early 40s – as a result of the hard-living party buffet they indulged in during their respective heydays.

Watercolor modeled after this image.
Watercolor modeled after this image.

I probably should have mentioned this yesterday. I’m not out to make fun of these guys or make light of their deaths. I loved loved LOVED wrestling back in the late 80s/early 90s, and these guys were the best heels around. And today, zombies are all the rage, so why not mash them up together?

When I finished this one up, it still felt naked, so I went back and added all the “gore,” splashing paint across the page. I then went back and did the same to the Rick Rude painting. It’s a cool effect, and when my girlfriend complained how ugly they were, I knew I was onto something.

7 thoughts on “WWF Zombies: Mr. Imperfect

    1. WrestleMania 9! Widely considered the worst WrestleMania ever… Bret Hart was my second hero. Before him, I was a HUGE mark for Kerry Von Erich, the Texas Tornado. My brother tells me I have the same face as him (especially since I have long hair like that), which I take a massive honor, even if he did look kinda like a horse.

      1. Not to say that the so-so card of WrestleMania was your fault. The way Hulk Hogan won the belt that night was complete bullshit. Could you see his black eye when he came to the ring? The official story was it was some jetski or bike accident, but one rumor is that the Hitman lived up to his name and socked Hogan. I hope that’s true.

Leave a comment