REVIEW: The Lorax


Pretty sure the only reason they didn’t call this The Borax is because there would be a lot of legal red tape.

Adapted from the environmental warning by Dr. Seuss, the much-hyped Lorax put me to sleep at two different intervals of the film. Maybe because I had a VHS of the 30 minute cartoon, and know the book, so there weren’t any surprises? More likely because the supplemental story added to make a feature length narrative was neither compelling nor funny, which is something I expect from these kids-movies-grown-ups-can-enjoy and Danny DeVito.

Not that the falling flat film is DeVito’s fault. (That’s a lot of F’s, but not nearly as many as The Lorax deserves.) He was great as the titular character; his voice is as perfect for the hairy orange scamp as Ed Asner was for the gruff old man in Up. Unlike Up, The Lorax doesn’t really hit any other beats – heart-wrenching, heart-warming, humorous (I know, I already said that) – and its sole value is hopefully scaring a generation of kids into taking care of the planet on which they dwell.

Now that I think about it, I’d say none of the Dr. Seuss classics have been converted into even the most mild of memorable movies. Horton Hears a Who? “Who” being the operative word. Mike Myers’ turn in The Cat in the Hat? Trust me, we’ve all tried to block it form our minds. Jim Carrey’s How The Grinch? I actually liked that one, though it doesn’t hold a candle to the Boris Karloff-narrated animation.

Unless you’ve got an impressionable youth, I recommend you wait for this to hit ABC Family. The commercials might be the best part…

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Lorax

    1. Part of my hang-ups is that movies like Toy Story (all of them!) and Up raised the bar SOOOOOO high, that I will always, and possibly, unfairly, compare subsequent CGI-animation movies to them. If you do end up seeing The Lorax, let me know what you thought!

    1. I don’t know if it strays so much as it adds a lot to flesh it out the story enough to justify 90 minutes. That said, the additional story is very uninspired.

Leave a Reply

